Golf Rule 18-2b – Welcome Wind of Change in 2012

Thank you to Jeanne Meyers, GAM Assistant Director of Rules & Competition, for helping us understand the Rules!

Webb Simpson led by 1 stroke in the final round of the 2011 New Orlean’s Classic. On the green at address, putter 4-5 inches behind the ball, he saw the wind move the ball about 1/4″.  Simpson called a penalty on himself – one stroke.  With the score tied, he was forced to a playoff which he then lost.  His tournament win slipped away because of wind.

This year one of golf’s most unpopular Rules,18-2b, now has a welcome exception. new balance 410

Rule 18-2b. If a player’s ball in play moves after he has addressed it (other than as a result of a stroke), the player is deemed to have moved the ball and incurs a penalty of one stroke.
Exception: If it is known or virtually certain that the player did not cause his ball to move, Rule 18-2b does not apply.

This exonerates a player if it is known that she did not cause her ball to move. Example: if a gust of wind  moves her ball after it has been addressed, there’s no penalty and ball is played from its new location.

gold oakley sunglasses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *